Serbia Country Info


Official name: Serbia

Conventional long form: Republic of Serbia

Local long form: Republika Srbija

Area: 77,474 sq km;

Capital: Belgrade

Independence: June 5, 2006

Population: Serbia: 7,498,001 (2002 census)

Suffrage: 18 years old

Ethnicity: Serb 63%, Albanian 17%, Montenegrin 5%, Hungarian 3%, other 13%

Languages: Serbian 95%, Albanian 5%

Religions: Orthodox 65%, Muslim 19%, Roman Catholic 4%, Protestant 1%, other 11%


Location : Southeastern Europe, between Macedonia and Hungary

Geographic coordinates : 44 00 N, 21 00 E

Land : 88,361 km2

Water : 0 km2

Area comparative: Slightly smaller than South Carolina

Land Boundaries :

Total : 2.026 km

Border Countries : Bosnia and Herzegovina 302 km, Bulgaria 318 km, Croatia 241 km, Hungary 151 km, Kosovo 352 km, Macedonia 62 km, Montenegro 124 km, Romania 476 km

Coastline : 0 km

Maritime claims : NA

Climate : In the north, continental climate (cold winters and hot, humid summers with well distributed rainfall); in other parts, continental and Mediterranean climate (relatively cold winters with heavy snowfall and hot, dry summers and autumns)

Terrain : Extremely varied; to the north, rich fertile plains; to the east, limestone ranges and basins; to the southeast, ancient mountains and hills

Elevation extremes :

Lowest Point : No Information

Highest Point: Midzor - 2.169 m

Natural resources : oil, gas, coal, iron ore, copper, zinc, antimony, chromite, gold, silver, magnesium, pyrite, limestone, marble, salt, arable land

Political System


The president of Serbia is elected in direct election and by secret ballot. The president serves a five-year term and may serve up to two terms. The president nominates the prime minister in consultation with the National Assembly .

President of Serbia: Boris Tadic (since July 11, 2004)


The Government of Serbia is composed of the prime minister, deputy prime ministers and ministers. The candidate for the post of prime minister shall present his program and propose the list of ministers of his government to the National Assembly. The government shall be deemed elected if its election has been approved by vote of the majority of the total number of representatives.

The prime minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the national assembly. The prime minister is the head of the government.

Serbian Prime Minister: Mirko Cvetkovic (since 7 July 2008)


The National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia is a unicameral legislative 250-seat body. The national assembly approves the prime minister and the council of ministers. The deputies are elected according to party lists for four-year terms.


Judicial power in Serbia is vested in the courts of general jurisdiction (municipal courts, district courts, Appellate Courts, the Supreme Court of Cassation); courts of special jurisdiction (commercial courts, the High Commercial Court, the High Magistrates Court, the Administrative Court).

Economic Development

Travel, History and Traditions

EULEX head Gabriele Maucchi commended the police directors of Kosovo and Serbia for meeting in Belgrade on March 10th. [
Shoppers make their way through the historic Grand Bazaar recently in Istanbul. The city will host a summit next month w
Asylum seekers wait in Belgrade for the bus to Hungary. [Nikola Barbutov/SETimes]
More Geonews

Flag of Serbia

Map of Serbia

Serbian Bios