Montenegro Country Info


Official name: Republic of Montenegro Local long form: Republike Crna Gora

Area: 13,938 sq km

Capital: Podgorica

Independence: 21 May 2006 National Holiday: St. Vitus Day, 28 June

Population: 650,000

Suffrage: 18 years old

Ethnicity: Montenegrin 62%, other 38%

Languages: Montenegrin-Serbian, English, Italian, German

Religions: Orthodox 65%, Muslim 19%, Roman Catholic 4%, Protestant 1%, other 11%


Location: Southeastern Europe, bordering the Adriatic Sea, between Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina

Geographic coordinates: 44 00 N, 21 00 E


land: 102 13,812 sq km

water: 214 sq km

Area comparative: slightly smaller than Connecticut

Land boundaries:

total: 524km

border countries: Albania 173 km, Bosnia and Herzegovina 215 km, Croatia 25 km, Serbia 211km

Coastline: 199 km

Maritime claims: NA

Climate: in the north, continental climate (cold winters and hot, humid summers with well distributed rainfall); central portion, continental and Mediterranean climate; to the south, Adriatic climate along the coast, hot, dry summers and autumns and relatively cold winters with heavy snowfall inland

Terrain: extremely varied; to the north, rich fertile plains; to the east, limestone ranges and basins; to the southeast, ancient mountains and hills; to the southwest, extremely high shoreline with no islands off the coast

Elevation extremes:

lowest point: Adriatic Sea 0 m

highest point: Daravica 2,656 m

Natural resources: oil, gas, coal, antimony, copper, lead, zinc, nickel, gold, pyrite, chrome, hydro power

Political System


In Montenegro, the president is elected in direct elections and by secret ballot, on the basis of a general and equitable voting right, and for a term of office of five years. A person may be elected only two times to the post of president of Montenegro. The president's powers and responsibilities include: representing the state at home and abroad; promulgating laws by ordinance; calling elections for new assembly; proposing to the Assembly candidates for the prime minister, president and justices of the Constitutional Court; proposing to the Assembly calling of a referendum; etc. The president of the Republic is also a member of the Supreme Defence Council.

President of Montenegro: Filip Vujanovic


The Government of Montenegro is responsible for the internal and external affairs of the republic. The prime minister directs the work of the government, and submits to the parliament the Government's Program including a list of proposed ministers.

Montenegrin Prime Minister: Milo Djukanovic


The Montenegrin Parliament is a 75-seat unicameral body. Deputies serve a four-year term and elect the president, his two deputies, and the cabinet, which is then directly answerable to the parliament. Decisions are made by majority vote.


Judicial power in Montenegro is vested in the local courts of law. The protection of constitutionality, as well as the protection of legality, in accordance with the Constitution, is vested in the Constitutional Court under each republic constitution, whenever this protection is not within the competencies of the Federal Constitutional Court and whenever some other legal remedy is not prescribed.

Economic Development

Travel, History and Traditions

More Geonews

Flag of Montenegro

Map of Montenegro

Montenegrin Bios