Kosovo Country Info


Official name: Kosova Local long form: Kosova

Area: 10,887 sq km

Capital: Pristina

Independence Day: February 17th, 2008

Population: 2.2 million

Suffrage: 18 years old

Ethnicity: Albanian 92%, Serb 5.3%, other 2.7%

Languages: Albanian, Serbian, English

Religions: Muslim, Serbian Orthodox


Location: Southeastern Europe

Geographic co-ordinates: 42° 40' 0" N21° 10' 0" E (Pristina)


land: 10,887 sq km

water: 0 sq km

Area comparative: one third the size of Belgium

Land boundaries:

total: 2,044km

border countries: Albania , Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia

Coastline: 0km

Maritime claims: NA

Climate: Continental climate (cold winters and hot, humid summers)

Terrain: Mountainous

Elevation extremes: 2,600m above sea level

lowest point: NA

highest point: Daravica

Natural resources: coal, lead, zinc, lignite, bauxite, nickel.

Political System


Kosovo's new constitution was ratified on April 9th, 2008 and went into effect on June 15th of the same year. It defines Kosovo as a multethnic society based on rule of law; stipulates separation of powers, upholds the new state's territorial integrity, defines Albanian and Serbian as the official languages, provides for participation in international organizations, and rules out any union with another state.


The president of Kosovo is elected by the Kosovo Assembly. The prime minister is nominated by the president and elected by the assembly. The cabinet consists of 16 ministries: Education, Science and Technology; Justice; Energy and Mining; Finance and Economy; Environment and spatial Planning; Local Government Adminitration; Internal Affiars; Foreign Affairs; Labour and Social Welfare; Commerce and Returns; Health; Public Service; Culture, Youth and Sports; Transport and Telecommunications; Agriculture, Forest and Rural Development; and Trade and Industry.

President of Kosovo:

Kosovo Prime Minister: Hashim Thaci

International administration

Kosovo declared independence on February 17th, 2008 and its sovereignty has been recognized by a number of countries, including the United States and some EU members. Serbia, Russia and other countries dispute the legitimacy of its declaration and continue to regard it as a province of Serbia.

UN Resolution 1244 placed Kosovo under the civilian control of theUnited Nations Administrative Mission in Kosovo, sel. A NATO-led international peace-keeping force,KFOR, is responsible for security in the province. On February 18th, the EU approved a mission to Kosovo that will assist with police and judicial functions as well as institution building. In August 2008, following the adoption of the Kosovo constitution, the UN mission underwent a reconfiguration, with up to 70% of its staff cut and many of its competencies tranferred to the Kosovo government or the EU mission, known as EULEX.

Kosovo government portal: http://www.ks-gov.net/


The Kosovo Assembly is a unicameral legislative 120-seat body. It includes twenty reserved seats: ten for Kosovo Serbs and ten for non-Serb minorities (Bosniaks, Roma, etc.). The Kosovo Assembly is responsible for electing a President and Prime Minister of Kosovo

Economic Development

Travel, History and Traditions

More Geonews

Flag of Kosovo

Map of Kosovo