Croatia Country Info


Short name: CROATIA Official name: Republic of Croatia

Local short name: Hrvatska Local long name: Republika Hrvatska

Area: 56,542 sq. km

Capital: Zagreb

Independence: 25 June 1991 (from Yugoslavia)

National Holiday: Republic Day/Statehood Day, 30 May

Constitution: adopted 22 December 1990

Population: 4,784,000

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal (16 years of age, if employed)

Ethnicity: Croat (78%); Serb (12%); Bosniak (1%); others (9%) (1991)

Languages: Croatian, other minority ethnic languages

Religions: Roman Catholic (77%); Orthodox (11%); Muslim (1%)


Location: Southeastern Europe, bordering the Adriatic Sea, between Bosnia and Herzegovina and Slovenia

Geographic coordinates: 45 10 N, 15 30 E

Map references: Europe

Area: total: 56,542 sq km land: 56,414 sq km water: 128 sq km

Area - comparative: slightly smaller than West Virginia

Land boundaries: total: 2,028 km border countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina 932 km, Hungary 329 km, Yugoslavia 266 km, Slovenia 501 km

Coastline: 5,835 km (mainland 1,777 km, islands 4,058 km)

Maritime claims: continental shelf: 200-m depth or to the depth of exploitation territorial sea: 12 NM

Climate: Mediterranean and continental; continental climate predominant with hot summers and cold winters; mild winters, dry summers along coast

Terrain: geographically diverse; flat plains along Hungarian border, low mountains and highlands near Adriatic coastline and islands

Elevation extremes: lowest point: Adriatic Sea 0 m highest point: Dinara 1,830 m

Natural resources: oil, some coal, bauxite, low-grade iron ore, calcium, natural asphalt, silica, mica, clays, salt, hydropower

Political System

The Republic of Croatia is a parliamentary democracy, like most countries in Western and Central Europe. After its Constitution was amended in November 2000, the semi-presidential system was transformed into a pure parliamentary system.

The President

The President of the Republic is the Head of State, directly elected for a term of five years. The President is also Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces, and represents the Republic of Croatia.

President: Ivo Josipovic (since 18 February 2010)


The Government initiates general policies and activities related to interior and foreign policies, and co-ordinates and directs the work of the state administration. The Government also implements laws and other regulations, passes decrees in compliance with the Constitution and the law.

Prime Minister: Jadranka Kosor (since July 6th, 2009)


The Government, headed by the Prime Minister, is politically responsible only to the Croatian Parliament (Sabor), which is comprised of two chambers: the House of Representatives (Zastupnicki dom) and the House of Counties (Zupanijski dom). Members of both chambers serve four-year terms.


The judicial system includes district, constitutional and supreme courts. The supreme court and constitutional court judges are appointed for eight-year terms by the Judicial Council of the Republic, which is elected by the House of Representatives.

Economic Development

Travel, History and Traditions

Shoppers make their way through the historic Grand Bazaar recently in Istanbul. The city will host a summit next month w
Hydropower plants, such as this one in Vrutok, Macedonia, are a way for Balkan states to secure energy independence. [To
Serbian Prime Minister Aleksandar Vucic (left) meets with his Macedonian counterpart Nikola Gruevski (right) on February
More Geonews

Flag of Croatia

Map of Croatia

Croatian Bios